The project consortium consists of the following academic institutions

  1. Yarmouk University (YU)- Jordan-Grant Holder
  2.  German Jordanian University (GJU), Jordan
  3.  Hashimite University (HU), Jordan
  4.  Dublin City University (DCU), Ireland
  5. Queen Mary University of London (QMUL), United Kingdom
  6. Valencia Polytechnic University (UPV), Spain

1. Yarmouk University

As one of the major higher education institutions in Jordan, YU is known for its innovative approach to the pursuit of excellence in teaching and scientific research. Established in 1976, Yarmouk University has the core competencies and history of implementing successful graduate engineering educational programs in various disciplines of Electrical Engineering through its engineering school – the Hijjawi Faculty for Engineering Technology (HFET). The Telecoms Engineering Dept. at HFET was established in 1989 and plays a vital role in providing the market of local and regional industries with high level telecommunications engineering graduates. The department offers engineering programs of study leading to the BSc. and M.Sc. degrees in Telecoms Engineering. The dept. has 16 faculty members most of whom hold PhD degrees obtained either in the EU or the US. Currently there are around 800 students at BSc. level and 35 students at MSc level.


2. German Jordanian University (GJU)

The German Jordanian University was established in 2005 based on a memorandum of understanding between the Jordanian government and the German government as a new University of applied sciences. Currently, GJU has 7 schools which offer several BS degrees. The School of Technological Sciences (STS) at GJU offers three study programs, namely, Maintenance, Mechatronics, and Industrial Engineering. STS is actively involved in partnerships with local industry and all its programs were tailored toward industrial needs through several industrial surveys and analyses to assess market needs for skilled engineers and workers in several areas, including automation and IT.

The academic staff at STS has strong links to industry in Jordan, EU and the US. GJU was involved in several successful projects including a previous Tempus project: Establishing Quality, relevant and collaborative industry-oriented IT education”.

3. Hashimite University (HU)

The Electrical Engineering (EE) department at the Hashemite University (HU) supports professional engineering education and research in various areas of applied sciences and technologies through its infrastructure, human resources and facilities. Currently, the department has 13 faculty members, whose expertise is in the fields of telecommunications, electronics, power and control. The department is well-equipped with facilities including labs, elearning lecture halls, and computer labs that are designed to serve its academic curricula. The department strives to be distinguished in the research and development domain, and to play a vital role in serving the local community and creating partnerships with local industries. The EE dept. has established collaboration links with leading universities and research centres around the world. Given that and the expertise of its faculty members, the EE dept. at HU has plans to start an MSc program in Telecomm. Eng. in the coming years.

4. Dublin City University (DCU)

Ranked in the THE-QS top 300, DCU is classed as a medium-sized, focused university with very high research activity. Since establishment in 1989, DCU has made very significant contributions to national development in terms of graduate teaching, research and industrial development. The dynamic and innovative School of Electronic Engineering in DCU operates 4 undergrad engineering programmes accredited by Engineers Ireland. Its research performance is indicated by research income of 5.4M€, 13 PhD grads and 110 journal papers during 2008. A particular research interest is in Next Generation Networks –heterogeneous network environments in which wireless, wired and optical networks coexist. The School operates a hugely successful, broad, flexible suite of taught postgrad programmes in Electronic Systems andTelecommunications. There are currently 219 full-time, part-time, local and remote students registered, including students on a collaborative programme with Wuhan University in China.

5. Queen Mary University of London (QMUL)

QMUL is one of London and the UK's leading research-focused higher education institutions. Amongst the largest of the colleges of the University of London, Queen Mary's 3,000 staff deliver world class degree programmes and research across a wide range of subjects in Humanities, Social Sciences and Laws, in Medicine and Dentistry and in Science and Engineering. QMUL was ranked within the top 20 in the UK in the December 2008 Research Assessment Exercise (RAE). The School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Sciences operates a hugely successful joint programme with the Beijing University of Post and Telecommunications (BUPT).

6. Valencia Polytechnic University (UPV)

The Escuela Técnica Superior de Ingenieros de Telecomunicaciَn of the Universidad Politécnica de Valencia (ETSIT-UPV )is one of the most important education institutions for telecommunication engineering in Spain. The ETSIT-UPV was established in 1987, and has built up a reputation nationally and internationally for the high quality of its engineering graduates. The ETSIT-UPV has reformed its University Curricula taking into account the Bolonia guidelines, facilitating the mobility of students and incorporating new teaching/learning methodologies to enhance the teaching/learning process. As a result of this educational reform process, the ETSIT-UPV offers a Masters program in Telecommunications Engineering (MTE) and a Masters in Technology, Systems and Communications Networks (MTSCN). The MTE program is oriented to a professional activity focussed on the industry market demand. While the MTSCN T is an MSc (Master of Science) oriented to research activities.